Throw them in the air, paste them back together.

I was going through old notepad notes on my phone and I found this note of random things from last semester:

Accuwire
Naked lunch
Throw them in the air paste them back together
Hennessy
Millenials

I don’t know what some of these were about, but the bolded one stands out to me as an interesting way to work on presenting the idea of dissociating from the body.

Print the work, then cut it into strips, paste those strips back together. Potentially, it could be scanned and reprinted as one image but I might need a really big scanner for that. There are digital alternatives, as well. Some glitching does the digital version of tossing something into the air and then pasting the sections back together. This is something to consider when working – something more than just the photography to capture the meaning since I’m struggling with ways to show that visually in a photograph.

Leave a Reply

