3: Palm process

Well, I decided I wasn’t interested in any of those ideas – they weren’t making the text part of the image – they were just text on images and I wanted something that was completely incorporated into the image. I was walking home the other night and looking at trees and thinking about how interesting it would be to take Python code and the image that it drew and somehow incorporate the code into an image, showing that code is art in it’s own way – functional and if done right, elegant. I don’t remember enough Python coding on my own, but it got me thinking about making objects and literally making them out of the letters. I stayed on the thought of trees and decided to do a palm tree.

I spent a long time last night going through fonts I had installed and fonts I had that I hadn’t installed yet (I recently got a huge package of fonts, not knowing this assignment was even coming) and decided on 3 Prong Tree as the font for the palm leaves. I intend to use a different font for the trunk. The leaves will be made up entirely of the letters “PALM” and the trunk entirely from the letters “TREE”. Unfortunately, I think I might have picked something that might be too large in scope – it’s taken me over an hour and a half to do only this.

raw // with tree

I really like this idea, but I’m worried that even if I get this image done, I’ll not be able to put as much effort as the other images deserve on top of my other homework for my 3D Design class. :/

I haven’t heard back from my interview yet, so at this point, I don’t have anything going on for the rest of this week except for an hour on Thursday and an eye doctor appointment on Friday, but that might screw me up for most of the day since my eyes are getting dilated. Other than that, I can dedicate ALL of my time to homework, but I’m scared I won’t have enough time. :/ Why can’t I just stop time and have enough time to do everything I want to. Bluh.

Edit: 9/23/11, 2:49 am

So here’s where I am right now. At this point I’m somewhere between 9 & 10 hours in on this. I’ve been doing a lot of experimentation with the warp tool and have learned a few things about it – most importantly, that you can’t use “custom” in the warp section to move specific anchors in the grid as you see fit without rasterizing the text – it’s an image-only action! So now that I’ve figured out how to do that, I’ve gotten a lot of the curve effects I really wanted in the foreground prominent frond.

With how long this has taken, I’m estimating 12 more hours to finish the fronds (4 fronds in 8-10 hours), plus however long it takes to do the trunk, including deciding on a font that feels appropriate. Then I have 9 more images to make. Fortunately, 5 of those are going to be putting THIS text treatment into other images, so it won’t be as work-intensive as this. I have no idea what I’m going to do with my other text treatments right now. I haven’t even had time to think about them.

On top of that, I have 3D design homework due Monday.

Sleep – I have a feeling I’m not going to be getting a lot of that between now and Sunday. :/ I wish my eye appointment was next week. It’s probably too late to cancel it and I really need contacts, but I really don’t have time to be out of commission with my eyes dilated for several hours. Boo.

Leave a Reply

